New Beginnings

Like most of you, I too have set out to try some new things in 2012!  With this blog I hope to combine my passion and commitment for education and a couple of goals/hobbies that are on my bucket list, photography and writing.  I got the idea from a relative and fellow blogger.

Through photographs I will attempt to share with you the ins and outs of my life as a principal and my thinking on teaching and learning.  I have been in education most of my life, as a student, as a parent, and as an educator.  I knew from a very young age that teaching and learning was my life goal.  I know first hand the power of an education! Today, I am as in love and actively engaged in providing ALL children with a quality education as I ever was. I feel privileged to be a part of such a great profession!

As for photography well, I have always had a yearning for developing my creative interests.  But, I never felt very “talented” in any medium.  Then, I read Carol S. Dweck’s book,  Mindset: The New Psychology of Success, and decided to practice what I preach, a growth mindset.  No one is born knowing, it takes desire and effort to learn something new.

This January I went out and bought myself a camera that I had my eye on.  I have been playing with it ever since and can’t wait to use it at school on Monday. Eventually I want to take some classes,  if you have any recommendations please let me know.

I hope you will share you thoughts with me and give me feedback.

Here’s to NEW BEGINNINGS.  Happy New Year!

Millie

One thought on “New Beginnings

Leave a Reply

