Celebrate

Image

This year is a BIG year for us, we launched writers workshop K-5 and I am thrilled!  As I visit classrooms I can see the changes in children as writers and teachers as teachers of writing.  This initiative is close to my heart and one I have waited a long time to implement.

I was excited last year when I became the principal of a K-8 school and I was immediately approached by a first grade teacher, who looked like a student herself, asking to schedule a meeting with me to discuss balance literacy.  Well, little did she know that literacy was a passion of mine.  That seed grew from some professional development for interested K-3 teachers on a Saturday morning, to fourth and 5th grade teachers wanting to join in, to a K-5 commitment to implement writers workshop.  While we are not yet where we want to be we are a whole lot further than we were!

So, I celebrate, celebrate, celebrate! The planning, the launch, the writing, the publishing, and the celebration!

ImageImage

 Image

9 thoughts on “Celebrate

  1. I, too, have been totally committed to writing workshop in my classroom this year. I love your chart. I have one similar but it doesn’t list the specifics of each part. I may have to revise my a little. Thanks!

  2. Congratulations on everyone joining in! Love that you are enjoying the workshop process and love seeing the photos! Best wishes in all the wonderful learning that will be going on!

Leave a Reply

